Grandville People Paying it Forward!

From the time I became the superintendent and a resident of Grandville, there has never been a doubt that our community is filled with supportive, caring, and thoughtful people.  For five years I have witnessed so many kind actions that have touched my heart making me feel so proud to be a Bulldog.

Recently, I was made aware of a local resident who read a story about an organization who paid off outstanding lunch debt at their local school.  When she inquired about outstanding lunch debt here in Grandville, she was surprised to hear that it was in the thousands of dollars.  She found it heartbreaking that many parents/students struggled to pay right here in our community.  She was also surprised to find out that this debt is absorbed by the district through general fund monies that are meant to be spent on instruction.

Well, she could not stand by and let that be the case.  She had to do something!  After getting the word out to businesses and other residents in Grandville, action was taken.

Fast forward to a few weeks a go.  I was in my office preparing for the 2019-20 school year when I heard someone drop something off to our front desk.  The person asked for an envelope to be delivered to me.

As I opened the envelope, I discovered several checks made out to the Grandville Public Schools to forgive the debt of others who owed lunch money from last year!  Almost five-thousand dollars!

I am keeping the names of the people and businesses who contributed anonymous at this time as I have not been able to personally thank them yet and ask permission to let others know who they are.  I do want to thank them so much for their thoughtfulness and generous support of our kids, families, and school district. Wow!

It is obvious we live in a community filled with love and caring for others.  People who see a need and not only talk about it but jump to action to help their neighbors. On behalf of Grandville Public Schools and the great students who walk our halls, I say thank you to everyone who makes this a great place to learn and grow!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Grandville People Paying it Forward!

Leave a comment